Call us: (847) 763-8500
Select Language

Immigration Law Associates, P.C. logo

EB-4: The Special Immigrant Category

The following special immigrants are eligible for the fourth preference visa:

  • Religious Workers
  • Special Immigrant Juveniles
  • Broadcasters
  • G-4 International Organization or NATO-6 Employees and Their Family Members
  • International Employees of the U.S. Government Abroad
  • Armed Forces Members
  • Panama Canal Zone Employees
  • Certain Physicians
  • Afghan and Iraqi Translators
  • Afghan and Iraqi Nationals Who Have Provided Faithful in Support of U.S. Operations

The religious worker category is the one our office encounters the most often when dealing with EB-4 cases. It allows ministers and non-ministers in religious vocations and occupations to immigrate to or adjust status in the U.S. for the purpose of performing religious work in a full-time compensated position. To qualify as a special immigrant religious worker, the foreign national must have been a member of a religious denomination that has a bona fide non-profit religious organization in the United States and must have been working in a religious vocation or occupation for at least 2 years immediately before the filing of a petition with USCIS. The U.S. employer must be either a bona fide non-profit religious organization or a bona fide organization that is affiliated with the religious denomination.

If you are a religious worker seeking to become a legal permanent resident, Immigration Law Associates, P.C. has the expertise you are looking for. Call us at 847-763-8500 to schedule your confidential consultation today.